Chicken and Dumplings

20 Aug

I don’t know about you but I grew up on home-made chicken and dumplings. It is one of my families favorites, including my little girl’s… who just tried it for the first time tonight and coudn’t get enough of it! So…. here is my families recipe. I have seen and been given numerous other chicken and dumpling recipes but can’t even bring myself to cook them because I am use to this one… and after all, why mess up a good thing?

Ingredients

2 cups Cooked Chicken, cut or broken into bite-sized pieces

1 cup Celery, diced

1 cup carrots, diced (if desired)

1 medium Onion, diced

3 cans Pillsbury Buttermilk Biscuits

2 cans Chicken Broth

4-6 cups Water

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Start Preparing

  1. In large pot bring chicken soup and water to a boil. Add celery, onions, salt, pepper and carrots and allow to cook for 20 minutes; Add cooked chicken.
  2. Return to a boil and tear each biscuit into fourths and gently drop into pot. Continue this until all biscuits are in water and stir. Simmer for 5 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another good idea for this recipe, add a teaspoon or two of garlic powder for added taste.

This is also the base to my chicken noodle soup. Just omit the biscuits and add noodles and boil for 9 minutes or so.

Leave a Reply

