Peach Dessert

20 Aug

I decided to make-up a new dessert recipe tonight. I needed to use the 4 remaining peaches I had and remembered that I had vanilla cupcakes that I had put in my freezer from my daughter’s birthday party. The cupcakes were not iced of course, just some that I had baked a few minutes too long. The middle and tops of the cupcakes were still in good condition, however, the bottoms got a little too brown to my liking so I just threw them into a zip-loc bag and stashed them in the freezer for my next “experiment”. So… the recipe below is a creative combination of a few too many peaches and some leftover cupcakes.

I had about 24 cupcakes (that I of course, thawed) which would be equal to 1-13×9 sheet cake in this recipe.

Ingredients

1 13×9 vanilla sheet cake, boxed

8-oz package Cream Cheese, softened

3 Tbsp Sugar

4 peaches, peeled, cored and sliced very thinly

1 Tbsp Brown Sugar

1/2 tsp Lemon Juice

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Tbsp Cornstarch

3 Tbsp cold water

Start Preparing

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a food processor, pulse cake until fine. Pour into a bowl and, using your hands, blend in cream cheese and 1 Tbsp sugar until dough-like.
  3. Drop about 1 tsp of the dough into mini-muffin tins and press until covers bottom.
  4. In a saucepan, stir together peach slices, 2 Tbsp sugar, brown sugar, lemon juice and vanilla; Bring to a boil. 
  5. In a small dish, whisk together cornstarch and water until smooth. Pour into peach mixture; Boil for 1 minute. Spoon on top of crust in tins.
  6. Bake for 12 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And don’t forget…. NEVER throw out those barely burnt on the bottom cupcakes!!

Leave a Reply

