Questions On Belief…

16 Nov

I would say that I have been a Christian pretty much my whole life. Granted, I did not attend Church constantly, and even had the chance to experience almost every religion in America, but I would say that I was ALWAYS a Christian. My grandparents were a big part of my upbringing and my grandfather was a Church of God pastor so I look back and even when I was being taken from Church to Church, my fondest and most memorable memories were from my CoG days.

So, I am posing this question because I realize that some people have fallen away from their faith, a faith that they once would have stood upon NO MATTER WHAT!

If you accept God as your personal Savior, and become a Christian, but fall away from it… were you ever even truly saved at all??

I know that this may be deep for some but I believe that if you believe the whole Bible, and in a God that sent His Son to die on the cross for our sins, and you TRULY accepted these things, then you would not “backslide” or depart from those beliefs…. no matter what!!

No, I am NOT perfect and yes, I have, and will always have, faults but if I claim to be a Christian, shouldnt I be a Christian thru and thru… not swaying but staying firm with everything that is in me?!?!

2 Responses to “Questions On Belief…”

  1. Andrew November 17, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    You should see what Heb. 6 has to say about this topic.

  2. Chanelle Tallmage November 19, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Hebrews 6:4-6— 4 It is impossible for those who have once been enlightened, who have tasted the heavenly gift, who have shared in the Holy Spirit, 5 who have tasted the goodness of the word of God and the powers of the coming age 6 and who have fallen away, to be brought back to repentance. To their loss they are crucifying the Son of God all over again and subjecting him to public disgrace.

    Thanks Andrew for the Bible referance! It is sad that so many people today want to follow their own hearts, after knowing God, and then return to Him whenever it is convenient for them! I guess this is where we just must accept them for who they are and pray that they will return to Him… and this time stronger than before!!!

Leave a Reply

